Child Safety Seat Checks 2017-04-14T16:46:08+00:00

Education

Child Safety Seats

The North Liberty Fire Department provides Free Child Safety Seat Checks!
Call (319) 626-5717 or E-Mail to Schedule an Appointment or Mercy Hospital On Call (319) 358-2767.

Iowa Child Passenger Safety Seat Laws

(Effective July, 2010)

  • A child under 1 year old and weighing less than 20 lbs must be secured in a rear-facing child restraint system.
  • A child age 1 up to 6 years old must be secured in a child restraint system (a safety seat or booster seat–NOT a seat belt).
  • A child from the age of 6 up to the age of 11 must be secured in a child restraint system or by a safety belt.
  • Rear seat occupants up to age 18 must be secured by a safety belt.

Download the Iowa Child Restraint Law Brochure

Common Child Safety Seat Misuses!

About 90% of installed car seats have at least one misuse, how about your Car Seat? Check Below.

  • Is Your Car Seat on the Recall List? (Click Here)
  • Find Out What Child Safety Seat Your Child Needs (Click Here)
  • Seat installed too loose
  • Improper seating position (in front of an air bag)
  • Not buckling child into restraint
  • Not securely anchoring the child restraint to the vehicle
  • Improper seat for child’s age and size
  • Infant riding forward facing
  • Harness retainer clip not at armpit level
  • Loose harness strap

Useful Links

GET IN TOUCH